The University of Pittsburgh’s Developmental Psychology program invites applications from talented students interested in doctoral study. Women and members of groups under-represented in academia are especially encouraged to apply. Our students receive world-class training in Developmental Psychology, with an emphasis on interdisciplinary research and cutting edge methodologies and quantitative techniques.

The department provides up to six years of funding for students in good standing. Additional resources are available to cover conference travel and professional development workshops. We offer merit-based first-year fellowships for outstanding students, including those from under-represented groups.

Faculty accepting new students for 2020:
* Heather Bachman<www.psychology.pitt.edu/people/heather-bachman-phd>: school readiness, achievement, and home and classroom processes in low-income preschool and elementary school children; public policies that influence home and school contexts for low-income children * Sophia Choukas-Bradley<www.psychology.pitt.edu/people/sophia-choukas-bradley-phd>:adolescent and emerging adult development, with a focus on gender, sexuality, social media, body image, and LGBT mental health. * Klaus Libertus<www.psychology.pitt.edu/people/klaus-libertus-phd>: motor and cognitive development in infancy with a specific interest in autism spectrum disorders
* Melissa Libertus<www.psychology.pitt.edu/people/melissa-libertus-phd>: mathematical cognition in infants and children and other aspects of cognitive development related to educational neuroscience * Diana Leyva:<psychology.pitt.edu/people/diana-leyva-phd>family processes; minority families; early language & literacy; early math * Elizabeth Votruba-Drzal<www.psychology.pitt.edu/people/elizabeth-votruba-drzal-phd>: how contextual factors (e.g., socioeconomic status; early childhood education; temporary assistance for needy families) support learning and socioemotional development during the transition to school and the elementary school years
Pittsburgh is a vibrant and affordable city. The cost of living is 5.9% below the national average<nam05.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.forbes.com%2Fplaces%2Fpa%2Fpittsburgh%2F&data=02%7C01%7CKlaus.Libertus%40pitt.edu%7C04f66fd099e746065e7008d757c84e6d%7C9ef9f489e0a04eeb8…> and we’re rated the #1 city for millennials<nam05.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.curbed.com%2F2017%2F9%2F14%2F16306550%2Fmillennial-best-cities-jobs-rent-pittsburgh&data=02%7C01%7CKlaus.Libertus%40pitt.edu%7C04f66fd0…>! There’s a wealth of music and dance, science and art museums, exciting new restaurants, and championship sports teams.

For additional information, including faculty profiles and lab web pages, please see the Psychology Department website<www.psychology.pitt.edu/developmental-program>. Application Deadline: December 1. To apply, click here!<www.psychology.pitt.edu/graduate/graduate-admission-requirements/how-apply>